Back

dr. E. (Esther) de Groot

dr. E. (Esther) de Groot

Associate Professor
dr. E. (Esther) de Groot
  • Julius Center, dept. General Practice & Nursing Science

Biography

Biography

After a master in molecular biology, I became an educationalist, worked as an (e)-learning consultant, and wrote my thesis about lifelong learning of veterinary professionals. At present, I am a researcher in the learning sciences within the medical domain.

Interests and Focus

I investigate how (upcoming) medical professionals learn at the workplace and how their professional performance could be supported and enhanced. Questions about informal interprofessional collaborative learning of professionals, especially for the purpose of connecting evidence, patient values and clinical expertise (EBM), are my primary research focus. I look at learning processes that occur at boundaries:

  • between professionals from different disciplines,
  • between professionals and lay people,
  • and between researchers and clinicians.

My work helps to realise sound interventions which facilitate learning in organisations and contributes to application of (biomedical) evidence.

I have a strong methodological interest in qualitative research methods. I have experience with realist reviews, video stimulated recall interviews, social network analysis and conversation analysis.

 

Side Activities

I am an associate editor of the journal BMC Medical Education. Also, I am a member of the Ethical Review board of the Dutch Association of Medical Education.

Research Output (71)

Trends in surgical techniques for the treatment of esophageal and gastroesophageal junction cancer:the 2022 update

de Groot E. M., Goense L., Kingma B. F., Haverkamp L., Ruurda J. P., van Hillegersberg R. 1 Jul 2023, In: Diseases of the Esophagus. 36

Displaying concerns within telephone triage conversations of callers with chest discomfort in out-of-hours primary care:A conversation analytic study

Spek Michelle, van Charldorp Tessa C, Vinck Vera V, Venekamp Roderick P, Rutten Frans H, Zwart Dorien LM, de Groot Esther 4 May 2023, In: Patient Education and Counseling. 113

Group Dynamics and Allocation of Advanced Heart Failure Therapies-Heart Transplants and Ventricular Assist Devices-By Gender, Racial, and Ethnic Group

Breathett Khadijah, Yee Ryan, Pool Natalie, Thomas Hebdon Megan C, Knapp Shannon M, Herrera-Theut Kathryn, de Groot Esther, Yee Erika, Allen Larry A, Hasan Ayesha, Lindenfeld JoAnn, Calhoun Elizabeth, Carnes Molly, Sweitzer Nancy K 7 Mar 2023, In: Journal of the American Heart Association. 12

Development and validation of a prediction rule for patients suspected of acute coronary syndrome in primary care: a cross-sectional study

Wouters Loes T. C. M., Zwart Dorien L. M., Erkelens Daphne C. A., Adriaansen Elisabeth J. M., den Ruijter Hester M., De Groot Esther, Damoiseaux Roger A. M. J., Hoes Arno W., van Smeden Maarten, Rutten Frans H. 5 Oct 2022, In: BMJ Open. 12

A delicate balance:how physicians manage change towards collaborative care within their institutions

Vermond Debbie, de Groot Esther, de Wit Niek, Zwart Dorien 8 Sep 2022, In: JOURNAL OF INTEGRATED CARE. 30 , p. 125-137 13 p.

The evolution and co-evolution of a primary care cancer research network:From academic social connection to research collaboration

Vermond Debbie, de Groot Esther, Sills Valerie A., Lyratzopoulos Georgios, Walter Fiona M., de Wit Niek J., Rubin Greg 29 Jul 2022, In: PLoS ONE.

Designing the learning of intraprofessional collaboration among medical residents

Looman Natasja, de Graaf Jacqueline, Thoonen Bart, van Asselt Dieneke, de Groot Esther, Kramer Anneke, Scherpbier Nynke, Fluit Cornelia 5 Jul 2022, In: Medical Education. 56 , p. 1017-1031 15 p.

Optimising telephone triage of patients calling for acute shortness of breath during out-of-hours primary care:protocol of a multiple methods study (Opticall)

Spek Michelle, Venekamp Roderick, De Groot Esther, Geersing Geert Jan, Erkelens Daphne Carmen, van Smeden Maarten, Rutten Frans H., Zwart Dorien L. 21 Apr 2022, In: BMJ Open. 12

Factors determining development of researchers within a research network on cancer diagnosis in primary care (CanTest):an interview study

de Groot Esther, Vermond Debbie, Sills Valerie A., Mol Saskia S.L., Walter Fiona M., Rubin Greg, de Wit Niek J. 10 Mar 2022, In: BMJ Open. 12 , p. 1-9

Missed Acute Coronary Syndrome During Telephone Triage at Out-of-Hours Primary Care:Lessons From A Case-Control Study

Erkelens Daphne C., Rutten Frans H., Wouters Loes T., Kirkels Harmke G., Poldervaart Judith M., de Groot Esther, Damoiseaux Roger A., Hoes Arno W., Zwart Dorien L. 1 Jan 2022, In: Journal of Patient Safety. 18 , p. 40-45 6 p.

All research output

Thank you for your review!

Has this information helped you?

Please tell us why, so that we can improve our website.

Working at UMC Utrecht

Contact

Emergency?

Directions

Appointments

Practical

umcutrecht.nl uses cookies

This website uses cookies This website displays videos from, among others, YouTube. Such parties place cookies (third-party cookies). If you do not want these cookies, you can indicate that here. We also place cookies ourselves to improve our site.

Read more about the cookie policy

Agree No, rather not